Okay (I love saying ‘okay’…) okay… I have done some work and I am on track-ish to submit 1000 word essay tomorrow morning…so I have time for about two…three more poems. After all, I brought the collection to the studio…might as well transcribe…

 

We walk down the aisle

To life’s hardest toil

Amidst pain and despair

When all is in vain

We sit at the hearth

Brims with ashes of hurt

Of tales yet untold and people unknown

We cry tears of sorrow

And laugh bitter’st gall

Yet all of the while we toil in the hope

The morning star will dawn our awakening

© 1994

 

I have absolutely no idea what I was ‘gabbing’ about…we cry…we toil…we sit…(who on earth was I talking about…what this the aftermath of heartbreak? was I referring to myself in the plural?  who is the ‘we’?)  I seriously wish I could go ask my 1994 ‘me’ that…(oh…I just checked ‘heartbreak’ was in 1995)…so the ‘we’ in this poem has definitely got me stumped!  or maybe it was just another ‘flaff’ poem…I definitely had a lot to say…(still do…(hah)…don’t shut up me…can definitely ‘talk’ for London…so much to say…’you tak too much…girl…you neva shut up’…)

