Just found a revised edition of earlier poem…

My name ‘Omalukhe’ speaks volumes 

As I dance to its pronunciation,

I realise I will not alter this name

To suit a plastic world

For this name speaks of warriors 

Red earth and drums

Rhythm grown in the home

In the dance of the pestle

The shake of the basket 

The grind of the stone

As food fills the home 

This name celebrates me

For whom I have become 

I dance when called

At my heritage and birthright 

The authenticity of who I am

Its nuances and intonations

I will not play down or lay down

As slang words too rich to pronounce 

They leave a twist in your tongue

So call me Omalukhe and light up my eyes

With the sweet breath of home

I find in my name

At the scent of the grass mingled with rain

As it kisses the soil of Africa 


July 2002 copyright reserved 
(Okay…2002 ‘me’…feisty as well)

