I remember this poem…I think…

 

He swoops from my arms to every demand

Paper that glistens, pennies that shine

A toy – drop of colour, balloons bursting with air

I’m a child, pick me up!

I’m a baby, I demand!

You have cranes for your arms

And you travel very fast

Take me here; take me there

Give me more; I want more

I am tired; take me home

Hey…! What’s that on the floor?

He swoops from my arms to every demand

Paper that glistens, pennies that shine

A toy – drop of colour, balloons bursting with air

© 1999

 

my son…was a handful for my younger ‘self’…always wriggling…’carry me…down…down..up…up…’ endlessly.  I still remember aching arms and my son being so big and me so small…I remember I used to state almost every day that ‘he weighs a ton!’ …but it’s all good…would do it all over again (not the bad choices…but to have my baby boy…yes sireee! without a doubt! …my gorgeous young man now (proud mum smile [ear to ear])  okay next poem…then a break

