okay…another favorite pastime of my younger self…writing about women…

 

I am instinct

Passed down from generation to generation

Comfort; nurtured in my bones

Love; building bridges

Time; raising homes

I am my grandmother’s hands

As she kneads dough in a bowl

My mother’s patience as she listens

My sister’s light step

As she spies the fly guy that turns her head

I am your ears as you listen to this song

Of who I am and who you are

And who we choose to be

As we fall in step with generations past

Supple, slinky, flirty, naughty

Working our minds to ease

The burden of antagonism

Living it large in small doses

Giving with gusto as much as need be

Knowing that time is spandex when used wisely

I am your ears, your mind, your life, your love

Giving the full dose to all who call

I am you, I, we, us

Grace enabled

Beauty envisioned

Hurt well handled

Love abundant

I am woman

©2003

 

Like it…(getting bit tired…two more poems then I need a break..)

