another poem about God…

 

The path may be rough and shoddy

Your soles may sometimes wear thin

Patience may stretch to breaking

But don’t take your eyes off Him

People will not be steadfast

Chance is they’ll laugh at your faith

By the author of Life you are favoured

So don’t take your eyes off Him

Measure for measure; pouring over

Shaken together; in your cup

When in the lap of luxury

Don’t take your eyes off Him

People will come and will leave you

Sweetness will sometimes turn sour

In dark hours or radiant success

Don’t take your eyes off Him

Walk the path He has shown you

Follow the lead He has set

For as shepherd to sheep beloved

He will not take His eyes off you

© circa 2000

 

foot note reads: Matt 26 vs 41: Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation.  John 10 vs 14: I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me…I lay down my life for the sheep.

